Earworms

An earworm, sometimes known as a brainworm, sticky music, stuck song syndrome, or Involuntary Musical Imagery (IMI) is a catchy piece of music that continually repeats through a person’s mind after it is no longer playing. (Definition from the Wikipedia)

Have you ever had an ‘earworm’? How did you feel about it? Did you use any techniques to get rid of it or did you wait for the earworm to vanish from your head?

This Xmas I’ve suffered from one: The Xmas song I played to you before the break. I couldn’t get it out of my head though I tried and tried and tried…

Tell us your experience(s) about this.

17 respuestas a “Earworms

  1. luciajimenez23 22 marzo, 2019 / 9:27 pm

    I usually have an earworm because when i like a song i burn it until i get tired of that. To end the problem i listen to other songs.
    The problem doesn’t matter to me.
    My actual earworm is 7 rings.

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  2. mariiapalomares 22 marzo, 2019 / 6:30 pm

    I always have an earworm, when I get up, when I go to sleep…
    To forget it, I do nothing, I only wait to hear a new song that should take its place in my head.
    My actual earworm is Shallow.

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  3. cogp04 22 marzo, 2019 / 5:37 pm

    I always have an earworm, and i like to have one, because usually is a song that i love. I don’t do nothing to vanish him. One of the songs that i never forget is ‘La Gozadera’ by Gente de zona.

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  4. rociobelloncobogmailcom 22 marzo, 2019 / 4:58 pm

    I usually have got an earworms .My first earworms was “WAKA WAKA “ by Shakira . I listened it a lot of times a long of day .However ,my favourite earworms is “ LA MACARENA “.While i am having a shower I always sing “LA MACARENA “

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  5. Maria Reyes 22 marzo, 2019 / 4:10 pm

    I always have an earworm, because I’m almost always listening to music. At first, I sing the song all the time, but there comes a moment that is annoying because I have tired of listening the song in my head. When this happens, I try to change the song that repeats in my head listening to new music.

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  6. daniel herreros jimenez 21 marzo, 2019 / 5:31 pm

    I have earworms every day, they play music every dady, every houar, i love the music. Usually the song is a earworm. My technique is not know in this song and know in another one. The song is «Happier»-Marshmello.

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  7. angel sanchez 20 marzo, 2019 / 7:49 pm

    I always have a earworm in my head. First it gets in your head because the song is catchy but finally you get angry with yourself because listening always the same song in your head is very tired.To finish the problem,I listen other different songs and the earworm disappears.One of my earworms was with the song «Despacito»-Luis Fonsi- in 2017.

    Le gusta a 1 persona

    • celiamedina03 22 marzo, 2019 / 5:46 pm

      Yes, sometimes I have earworms, when I hear a song that is very catchy and I like it. Suddenly comes the refrain of the song to mind and then I start to sing it without noticing

      Le gusta a 1 persona

  8. sergimur09 20 marzo, 2019 / 7:38 pm

    I’m not the kind of person that gets earworms but when I do, I can’t take it out of my head, Rocío hates it but I can’t help it, I know I can’t get rid of it so I just roll with it.

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  9. ajdls 18 marzo, 2019 / 8:19 pm

    I always have an earworm!!! Beacause of my passion about the Eurovision Song Constest, I am always listening to many new songs that are released by the participant countries. I also listen many previous participant songs as well as the popular ones that are a hit at te moment. In addition, while many people just long to get the earworm out of their heads, I «feed» it!! I am always singing the songs I hear in my head; what can be a little bit annoying-my friends tell me about it- and in many cases, I infect my friends. I sometimes wonder why my friends bear me XDXDXD

    Le gusta a 2 personas

  10. martapj15 17 marzo, 2019 / 7:48 pm

    I have a different earworm everyday. This is very annoying because it gets stuck in my head and I can’t think of anything but that. When I have an earworm, I wait until it vanishes because I haven’t found a way to get rid of it yet.

    Le gusta a 2 personas

  11. Sheila Simon 8 marzo, 2019 / 7:11 pm

    All days I have an earworm because I´m always listening to music. But the first song I played and
    the most that make me have an earworm is ALLIGATOR by Monsta X ,when I had an earworm I feel very excited and I wait for the earworm to vanish

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  12. Maria Sevilla Montejano 18 enero, 2019 / 3:42 pm

    many times, when I hear some song that comes out on the radio or television, or even that my friends are singing, I stay stuck in the brain, one way to forget is to think of something else or listen to another type of music different from the one you’re thinking

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  13. luislobezno 12 enero, 2019 / 2:00 pm

    Every day I have a sound in my head that I can not get rid of, but I have discovered a method to take it from me, it is to start thinking about something other than the song. The song that always gets me is the spells, potions and witchcraft of Wizard of Oz

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  14. Vann Strainir 10 enero, 2019 / 9:11 pm

    I always have an earworm, at first it can be satisfactory but then it’s very frustrating and you finish hating it. I discovered a method that consists in sing aloud two or three times the song and to be honest, this technique doesn’t act on me. The songs that cause me earworm actually are ‘Intoxicao – C. Tangana’ and ‘Death in Greenpoint – Mishka Shubaly’

    Le gusta a 2 personas

  15. juanvalverdeextremera 10 enero, 2019 / 6:37 pm

    I had an ear worm and it is very annoying since it distracts you to study. I did not use any method, because I forgot over time. The song that ear worm caused me was «Waiting For Love – Avicii»

    Le gusta a 1 persona

  16. adn0396 10 enero, 2019 / 6:24 pm

    I’ve had an earworm many times. It’s tiring because I’m always singing the same song. To end the problem you have to finish the whole song, so we would stop thinking about it. One of the songs I never Forget is «God’s PLAN» – DRAKE

    Le gusta a 1 persona

Deja un comentario